Global Online Safety Regulators Network


Website/link: Visit website

Subject tag: Advertising | Algorithmic systems | Child safety | Data Access | Disinformation and misinformation | Government transparency | Privacy and data protection | Terrorism and violent extremism

Country: Australia | Fiji | Ireland | South Africa | South Korea | United Kingdom (UK)

Region: Africa | Europe | Global | Oceania

The Global Online Safety Regulators Network is the only global forum dedicated to supporting collaboration between online safety regulators, sending a strong message about our shared commitment to online safety regulation.

Through this, we will encourage wider international membership and cooperation, with the aim of making the approach to online safety between countries is as consistent and coherent as possible.

The Network, which launched in November 2022, will share information, best practice, expertise and experience, to support harmonised or coordinated approaches to online safety issues.

A Roadmap for Action sets out how the Network will meet its three core strategic priorities: (1) Strategic communications – Develop and release position statements to support a clear collective voice for the Network on online safety issues. (2) Harmonisation – Review regulatory approaches and identify areas for collaboration. (3) Cooperation – consider how to share data and insights to support cross-border collaboration.

Membership of The Global Online Safety Regulators Network is open to regulators with legislated online safety functions, who meet criteria on independence from political and commercial interference, and are committed to upholding human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

Current members include: eSafety Commissioner – Australia (Chair); Coimisiún na Meán – Ireland; Film and Publication Board – South Africa; Korea Communications Standards Commission – Republic of Korea; Office of Communications (Ofcom) – United Kingdom; Online Safety Commission – Fiji.

Observers will be organisations and stakeholders working on online safety issues and committed to working collaboratively with independent online safety regulators. This can include civil society, policymakers, multilateral organisations and industry groups.

Current observers include: Department of Canadian Heritage – Canada;
Freiwillige Selbstkontrolle Multimedia-Diensteanbieter e.V. (FSM) – Germany;
Netsafe – New Zealand; Te Mana Whakaatu | Classification Office – New Zealand.